In absentia

When you’re gone
my shoelaces come undone
I drop my keys
the kettle boils over
When you’re gone
the silk of my shirt
drags over the sore places
like the memory of teeth


7 responses to “In absentia

  1. I love this, Christine. “like the memory of teeth” reminds me of a line from Because of Winn Dixie…something about her mom being gone feeling like putting your tongue where a tooth used to be, over and over again. Haunting.

  2. I could read your poetry all day. Lovely job giving me exact images of each line. The sights, the sounds, the smells, and the feelings.

  3. I love this. I did linger over the line “drags over the sore places” trying to decide if the sore places are a good sore or a bad sore, but as a non-poet, I’m going to belief that good poetry makes you think. I’m going to go with my initial feeling that they are good sore. 😉

  4. I loved how the first half was focused on emotion and the second on the senses. I read it over and again cuz I just enjoyed it so much!

  5. That closing line is stellar, Christine! ***

Leave a Reply

