Tipping Point

I am an obsession, a twisted fulcrum.  A distracted smile, and you tilt thusly. A gaze too deep tips you back. I etch my name across your back. It lingers when I leave.


This post was made in response to the Trifecta Writing Challenge weekend Trifextra prompt:

This week we’re asking for exactly 33 of your own words about love gone wrong. But we’re asking that you not use any of the following words:

love
sad
tears
wept
heart
pain

This weekend’s Trifextra challenge is community-judged! For the 48 hours following the close of the challenge (starting at 4:00 PM Pacific/7:00 PM Eastern on Thursday), voting will be enabled on links.  In order to vote, return to the Trifecta Writing Challenge site where stars will appear next to each link. To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite posts. You can vote for up to three, and voting is open to everyone!

25 responses to “Tipping Point

  1. Wow! Lovely and luscious :)))

  2. This felt like a dance of sorts. Beautifully written!

  3. “it lingers when I leave”
    Wish I wrote that line, it’s so telling and so achingly beautiful and desperate.
    Again, you “WOW” me Christine. xo

  4. Slipping ‘fulcrum’ into a love story? Girl, you rock!
    btw, ‘you tilt thusly’ also blew me away.

  5. I echo Kir and Kymm’s comments about those words and that phrase. Powerful, beautiful piece, Christine. This one will stay with me.

  6. You never, ever disappoint, Christine. Your word choice here is nothing short of brilliant!

  7. *standing ovation* Gorgeous. Best poem I’ve read thus far…

  8. This is absolutely beautiful!

  9. Wow. From beginning to end, this is wonderful. A lingering obsession. Beautiful.

  10. Great work! I love the last line! Love!

  11. So few words to capture so much feeling. I’m impressed. I read this a few times, just to let sink in. You have an amazing ability to use your words in a powerful way:~)

  12. Wow! So luxuriously written! I plain loved it.

  13. Sufficiently twisted. Perfect

  14. Very beautifully written and poignant.

  15. Ooo I like this one.

  16. Can’t express it any better…

  17. I felt like I was reading a little tune the way it danced about. Love the words you used.

  18. “You tilt thusly” = my favorite line. This is luscious!!!!

  19. Great take on the prompt and top marks for putting ‘fulcrum’ in there too 🙂

    Enjoyed

    Ally

  20. Glad I’m not the only one writing about being the seducer 😉 The word choice is uniquely your own, the words are dark and dangerous. Good stuff.

  21. Chills. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

