Resolution

This week the editors over at the Trifecta Writing Challenge gave us this timely assignment:

Michael Hess inspired us with his three word New Year’s resolution – just be nice. We’re asking for your own resolutions in just three words. Make it count; we’ll be checking back in come 2015.

My resolution for 2014:

Write every day.

It’s not about word counts, it’s not about perfection, it’s not even about finishing something I started. It’s about setting fingers to keys and banging away, getting the practice in, and putting one foot in front of the other in spite of the fog.

And so it remains for me to thank you, the Trifecta community, for inspiring me over the last year. Here’s to a wonder-filled 2014!

22 responses to “Resolution

  1. An excellent goal!
    My three words would probably be Yes? No? Maybe?.

    Happy new year!

  2. Yes, a great resolution and goal. Let’s do it!

  3. Couldn’t have been better 🙂 I so need to do this 😛

  4. I do that anyway, and can endorse the effectiveness!

  5. This speaks to me… almost fulfilled it for 2013… need to carry a notebook

  6. An excellent resolution!

  7. A great resolution.
    Happy New Year.

  8. I’m in!
    Happy New Year, Christine!

  9. Pingback: What’s Your New Year’s Resolution? « Keitochan Says:

  10. I’ve made this resolution as well!
    Happy 2014, Christine!

  11. Pingback: Trifecta’s Three Word New Year’s Resolution Collection | e.g.

  12. I could have easily made my resolution out as, “Stop Making Excuses” because, as I read your resolution, I immediately started saying in my head, “Yes but, I need more time or my peace and quiet or, blah, blah, blah!” So, you are correct and I need to stop making excuses. But, on the other hand, I just got back from Nova Scotia (visiting my 82 year old mother) to find the absolute best ornament waiting for me under the tree!!!!! You have instantly made me wish I had thought of a bicycle ornament, too!!!! Perfect! And, the book is great, too. My oldest daughter, Leah, read your poem and is inspired by it, too. She recently finished 3rd out of 190 students in a writing contest sponsored by our local library. She is seven and wrote a 600-word story about the Titanic. So, she may write in that book, too, if it is ok with you. 🙂 Thanks again for an awesome gift and congrats on the perfect resolution for Trifectans everywhere!

    • Oh, hurray! I am glad you liked the ornament and the little poem! By all means, share the book with anyone inspired to write in it. That’s what it’s for! Congrats to your little girl, and may the writing bug forever bite her. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  13. I hope you can do this. I’ve not been able to write every day so far. Time will tell if I ever get there. (Hey, do blog comments count as writing? 🙂 )

  14. If only I could make myself do this! Great words.

  15. Perfect words. We should all print them out and stick to our fridges/bathroom mirrors/foreheads. Let’s do it. Happy New Year Christine!

  16. 90% of writing is just showing up. So that’s what I tell myself: Just get your butt in the chair, Jayne. 🙂

  17. You make everything SIMPLE and Completely RIGHT.
    Yes…as Nike says, Just Do It.
    I’m trying so hard to find words, to put them on paper…or screen.
    Hey do COMMENTS count?? 😉

    HAPPY NEW YEAR my friend. you are one of MY favorite inspirations, always.
    XO

  18. Good for you! Practice is the key. This is why I do stream of conscious writing with pen and paper first thing in upon waking…Juila Cameron calls the Morning Pages. Something so different about pen and paper vs banging keys for me. I tested it out last night by doing and evening “assignment” that was supposed to be done by hand on a website called 750 words. It wasn’t the same for me this morning when I woke up. What I was supposed to have reflected on wasn’t part of my Morning Pages. Tonight I will do the “assignment” properly with pen and paper and see if I have different results tomorrow morning. Please forgive the long comment. Happy new year to you, I’ll cheer you on with your resolution 🙂

  19. “It’s about setting fingers to keys”

    Oh, this is so true. I need to print this off and tack it above my desk. Looking forward to reading more of your wonderful words this year. Happy 2014, Christine! 🙂

  20. Great goal, I’m totally with you on this one!

Leave a Reply

