Gold

There is a word caught in the crack between thinking and feeling. By the way that it glitters, I know it’s gold. If I could only reach it, I could buy your heart.


This has been rattling around in my head since I first read the prompt on Monday, but I didn’t get a chance to post it until 4:58 pm on Thursday – two minutes before the close of the challenge. Good thing I waited: my entry was number 100!

This post was written in response to the Trifecta Writing Challenge weekly prompt:

You should write a creative response using the third definition of the given word. You must use the word in your response, and you must use it correctly. Your response can be no fewer than 33 and no more than 333 words. This week’s word is:

CRACK
1a : a loud roll or peal
b : a sudden sharp noise
2: a sharp witty remark : quip
3a : a narrow break : fissure
b : a narrow opening —used figuratively in phrases like fall through the cracks to describe one that has been improperly or inadvertently ignored or left out
4a : a weakness or flaw caused by decay, age, or deficiency :unsoundness
b : a broken tone of the voice c :
crackpot 5: moment, instant

7 responses to “Gold

  1. Oh! This is so sweet and romantic. Love it! And congrats on being #100!

  2. Definitely worth the nail-biting wait. Great job.

    • As much as I love the idea of you sitting at your computer hitting “refresh” every 20 seconds to see if I’ve posted, I think you may have overstated things a bit. 🙂

  3. Aww … weak in my knees ! 🙂

  4. Absolutely gorgeous, Christine! And 100!!!

  5. The lovely word like that of gold, to complement the treasure of your heart… sorry just got carried along.

  6. Perfectly describes my head when I’ve got a writing idea rattling around in my head. I like you description much better than mine which sounds a bit like I’m off my rock. 😀

Leave a Reply

