A Bit of String

It’s the little things that consume me: how to mend a shoe, where to find a bit of string. The bigger questions of governments and domains are beyond my ability to absorb. What use is knowing whose territory you’re in, if they’d kill you just the same?

So I focus on the things I can control. I pick raspberries and dig for cattail roots. I keep to the shadows. I cast down my eyes. I exhaust every resource. And when I find that bit of string, I let my heart leap, just a little, and tie my shoe back on.


This post was made in response to the Trifecta Writing Challenge prompt:

EXHAUST (transitive verb)
1a : to consume entirely : use up <exhausted our funds in a week>
b : to tire extremely or completely <exhausted by overwork>
c : to deprive of a valuable quality or constituent <exhaust a photographic developer>
2a : to draw off or let out completely
b : to empty by drawing off the contents; specifically : to create a vacuum in
3a : to consider or discuss (a subject) thoroughly or completely
b : to try out the whole number of <exhausted all the possibilities>

And coincidentally, this also fits in with Velvet Verbosity’s 100 Word Challenge. This weeks word: Surviving.

Hope it’s okay if I link to both.

16 responses to “A Bit of String

  1. this is exactly how I feel lately, just getting there, the little things.
    But your language for it, was superb. I celebrated the piece of string with you.

  2. I agree with every word of this. Focus on the things you can fix and everything else will fall into place. Great post!

  3. This is excellent! Every word is right where it needs to be. Well done!

  4. Lovely! I keep to the shadows, I exhaust every resource… and when you find that bit of string it’s a great day! 2 paragraphs to make the heart soar.

  5. Scriptor Obscura

    This is great. Very good.

  6. ahhhhh – yes – survival of the heart here.

  7. this is really very good. short but says a lot. and you wrote it in such a way that made every single word count and they fall into the right place.. wonderful writing.

  8. I’m always looking for those little strings! You’re right–it’s such a great feeling when one is found.

  9. Great piece. I like how you can say so much with so few words.

  10. I enjoyed this – well done.

  11. I truly love these little pieces that you pack with so much description.

  12. Love letting your heart leap, just a little. Beautiful piece!

  13. This made me think. In one sense, so many stresses in our lives could be resolved by having this attitude. Nice one.

  14. LOVE that last sentence; says so much, literally and metaphorically.

Leave a Reply

