When I Was Sixteen

Dear Mom,

I’m sorry about the dent in the Camaro. To be fair, I did warn you to
move it – you know I can’t back up for shit. Just one thing: please
don’t tell Dad!


This post was written in response to the Trifecta Writing Challenge  weekend prompt:

Write a letter of apology in exactly 33 words. Addresses, salutations, closings, etc. (should you wish to include them) do not count in the 33 words.

I would claim that this story was based on truth, but I’d be lying. This is actually, absolutely, 100% true. And I’m posting it because I know my mom reads this blog…

12 responses to “When I Was Sixteen

  1. Heheheh, that was too realistic! 😉 Great write.

  2. I’m 37 and I still can’t back up for shit :).

  3. Yea, even before I saw the comments, I thought this one was hitting pretty close to home!

  4. I hope she kept your secret. 🙂

  5. Hilarious. I totally did this: backed into my dad’s girlfriend’s car. Oops…

  6. Christine's Mom

    OMG, too, TOO funny! I suppose now that you’ve confessed AND apologized in front of the whole wide world – billions and BILLIONS of people! – it might be time for me to stop the subtle insinuations and prickles that have prolonged the agony and finally assuage your guilt.

    Nah. :p
    (It was my Z-28 T-top CAMERO, for cryin’ out loud!)

    The range of expressions in your eyes is certainly memorable, but the raw honesty in your tone was priceless: “I TOLD you I can’t back up!” Ahhh, a maternal milestone, when a mother learns to unconditionally trust her daughter’s word. ~snicker~

    …and I think Dad had a clue, to the tune of $135.00 for a freakin’ Honda tailight! I think that was more of a trauma to him than the (*&%@$*) dent in my – gulp – CAMERO. 😉

    I know you STILL can’t back up for shit, which is why I’m delighted you found your niche: Portland, where riding a BICYCLE in the rain everywhere isn’t weird or insane.

    …but I still loves ya, girl!
    xox
    Mom 😡

    (darn, I miss that car…dent and all!)

  7. Christine's Mom

    PS I’ll give you extra crtedit for being able to spell better than me, hahahaha…CamAro, Camaro. OK?
    (whoops, that wasn’t supposed to be a crabby face after my name!!! 😮 )

  8. Yes, but does DAD read your blog? 🙂

  9. Sort of done that. Drove the old dart up and down the driveway. And smacked into the house.
    Funny thing, it was a 1969 Dart. Small scratch on the paint. But I knocked a brick out of the house.
    Tough car!

    • I warned her and warned her. I figure she had it coming. 🙂 Felt bad for the Camaro, though I think Mom was more upset at having to pay $70 to replace the taillight in my Honda Prelude.

Leave a Reply

